1 of 13
WIDGEON, HMCo #1063, was built in 1928 with varnished oak trim and a marconi rig. She retains her original builders plate and comes with an old but serviceable custom trailer. WIDGEON was rebuilt in the early 2000’s by George Emory of Tenants Harbor Maine, and most recently belonged to the late Phyllis Wyeth and her husband Jamie Wyeth, the famous American painter.
WIDGEON has been out of the water for quite a while and is dry but appears to be in excellent structural condition. A coat of paint/varnish and a bit of swelling and she would be ready to sail this summer.
The first Herreshoff 12 ½’s were built in 1914 by Herreshoff Mfg. Co, of Bristol, RI, from the original design of Nathanael G. Herreshoff. The unique popularity and longevity of this design has continued for 108 years. The Herreshoff 12 1/2 is still considered to be one of the finest, if not the finest, small sailing yacht designs ever created.